10 things to do this week

17.07 - 24.07 2018
1

Win Congés pass

23.07.2018

Communications media operator Tango has given Delano 4 festival passes to Congés Annulés at Rotondes.

Castles

Expat Guide Leisure time

Luxembourg’s medieval heritage.

Pictured: Bourglinster Castle. Photo credit: Jessica Theis

Beaufort castle

The knights’ castle of Beaufort was built between 1050 and 1650, during four different construction periods, and has been open to visitors since 1932, following repairs and clearing works in the castle’s ruins. Right next the medieval castle, the renaissance castle was built later in 1649 and never suffered severe damage apart from some minor transformations during the centuries. It can only be visited on a guided tour taking place during season but register in advance for the tour as only 
12 persons can be accepted.

Where: rue du Château,L-6313 Beaufort

Phone: 83 66 01

Email: [email protected]

Website: www.beaufortcastles.com

icon_info F6

Bourglinster castle

Bourglinster castle has a history stretching back to the 11th century and is now used for business and cultural purposes. The castle now has three banqueting halls and the restaurant “La Distillerie”--rewarded one Michelin star.

Where: 8 rue du Château,L-6162 Bourglinster

Phone: 78 78 78 1

Email: [email protected]

Website: www.bourglinster.lu

icon_info G5

Bourscheid castle

Bourscheid castle, triangular in shape, is situated on a steep promontory, perched 150 metres high above the Sûre river and accessible only from the northwest. Around the year 1000, a wooden fort was transformed into a stone-built castle. An audio guide is available in Luxembourgish, Dutch, French, German, English, Spanish and Russian.

Where: 1 Schlasswee,L-9140 Bourscheid

Phone: 99 05 70

Email: [email protected]

Website: www.bourscheid.lu

icon_info D4

Clervaux castle

Clervaux castle is perched on 
the slopes of a rocky promontory, the so-called “Lay”. The origins of the castle are lost in the mists of time. Some historians believe it was a former Roman fort, while others believe it was built on Celtic foundations. The castle is home to local government, the local tourist office, the Museum of the Battle of the Bulge and the collection of documentary art photography The Family of Man by Edward Steichen.

Where: Montée du Château,L-9712 Clervaux

Phone: 92 00 72

Email: [email protected]

Website: www.destination-clervaux.lu

icon_info C4

Esch-sur-Sûre castle

The first written evidence of Esch-sur-Sûre is found in the Liber Aureus Epternacensis, 
the golden book of Echternach abbey. This act was written in the third year of Charlemagne’s reign, between 9 October 773 and 9 October 774. Today, only consolidated ruins are left. Each year, La Nuit des Légendes (legends’ night) takes place at the castle, where visitors can enjoy music, food, beverage, fairytales and magic and fire shows.

Where: Rue de Lultzhausen,L-9650 Esch-sur-Sûre 

Phone: 26 88 95 41

Email: [email protected]

Website: www.nuitdeslegendes.lu

icon_info D3

Grand Ducal Palace

In its function as the city residence of the Grand Ducal family, it is situated right in the old city core. Formerly the first town hall of the city occupied 
the site of the present palace; destroyed by a gunpowder explosion (1554), the town hall was rebuilt 20 years later. Since 1890, the main building has been the Palace of the Grand Dukes’. The palace is open to visitors from mid-July till end of August every year for guided tours. 

Where: 17 rue du 
Marché-aux-Herbes,L-1728 Luxembourg

Phone: 22 28 09

Email: [email protected]

Website: www.lcto.lu

icon_info F12

Larochette castle

The ruins of Larochette castle are perched on a sandstone promontory 150 metres above the valley of the White Ernz, 
a tributary of the river Sûre. 
The main castle is surrounded by a wall that today is largely destroyed. A deep moat, partially of natural origin, shares the castle in two parts. Since the acquisition of the castle in 1979 by the Luxembourg state, the castle has benefited from major restoration.

Where: Montée du Château,L-7622 Larochette

Phone: 83 74 97

Email: [email protected]

Website: www.larochette.eu

icon_info F5

Valley of the Seven Castles

The Valley of the Seven Castles boasts the castles of Mersch, Schoenfels, Hollenfels, the two castles of Ansembourg and also Septfontaines and Koerich, all within an area of 24km. The national trail of the valley of the Seven Castles follows the meandering Eisch over 37km. Away from the main roads, its forest roads and paths (200km) delight hikers and cyclists.

Where: Eischen-Gaichel

Website: www.visitluxembourg.com

icon_info G3

Vianden castle

Vianden castle was built between the 11th and 14th centuries on the foundations 
of a Roman castle and a Carolingian refuge. This castle-palace bears the Hohenstaufen characteristics and is one of the largest and finest feudal residences of the Roman and Gothic eras in Europe. Visitors can take the chairlift that will bring them 
400 metres below the castle.

Where: Montée du Château,L-9408 Vianden

Phone: 84 92 91

Email: [email protected]

Website: www.castle-vianden.lu

icon_info D5

Related Groups