8 October 2023

The list of candidates for the legislative elections

Check out the list of candidates for whom you can vote, by party and constituency, for the general elections on 8 October 2023. Archive photo: Guy Wolff / Maison Moderne

Check out the list of candidates for whom you can vote, by party and constituency, for the general elections on 8 October 2023. Archive photo: Guy Wolff / Maison Moderne

The government has just published the official list of candidates by party and constituency for the general election on 8 October. Here’s a summary.

Luxembourg voters will be called to the polls on Sunday 8 October to choose their next MPs. Here is a summary of the official lists, by constituency and by party, published by the government on Tuesday 22 August.

The numbers of the 12 parties in the running were allocated in a draw. As the Mir d’Vollek party did not submit a list for the parliamentary elections, the number allocated to it in the draw in April for the local elections--number 8--was not reallocated. This is why there’s a list number 13, despite the fact that only 12 parties submitted lists.

In the Centre

Ten parties each presented 21 candidates in the centre. Franz FayotFranz Fayot and Francine ClosenerFrancine Closener have been appointed regional list leaders for the LSAP. The DP candidates are Xavier BettelXavier Bettel and Yuriko BackesYuriko Backes. For Déi Gréng, Sam TansonSam Tanson and François BauschFrançois Bausch. For the CSV, Luc FriedenLuc Frieden and Elisabeth MargueElisabeth Margue. For déi Lénk, David WagnerDavid Wagner and Ana Correia Da Veiga. Tom Weidig and Alex PenningAlex Penning head the ADR list. The Piratepartei has Mandy Arendt and Sven ClementSven Clement. Frank EngelFrank Engel has been appointed to represent Fokus in the Centre. Alain Herman is at the top of the KPL list for the Centre and Roy RedingRoy Reding for his newly created party, Liberté - Fräiheet!

In the East

Voters will have a choice of 11 parties in the East. Each party is fielding seven candidates, except Volt, which has three, with Fiona Godfrey at the top of the list. Paulette LenertPaulette Lenert and Ben Streff head the LSAP list. Lex DellesLex Delles and Carole HartmannCarole Hartmann for the DP. Henri KoxHenri Kox and Chantal GaryChantal Gary for déi Gréng. Léon GlodenLéon Gloden and Max Hengel for the CSV. Laurent Fisch and Adela Fuentes appear at the top of the list for déi Lénk. Alexandra Schoos and Robi Beissel head the ADR list. Daniel Frères and Angie Bisenius head the Piratepartei list. Jacques Linster has been nominated for Fokus. Finally, Wilhelm Haas and Patrick Mischel head the KPL and Liberté - Fräiheet! lists respectively.

In the North

There are 10 lists of nine candidates for the North. Claude HaagenClaude Haagen and Flore Schank head the list for the LSAP, Fernand EtgenFernand Etgen and Marc HansenMarc Hansen for the DP, Claude TurmesClaude Turmes and Stéphanie EmpainStéphanie Empain for déi Gréng, Martine HansenMartine Hansen and Christophe HansenChristophe Hansen for the CSV. The déi Lénk candidates have decided not to appoint a list leader. Jeff Engelen and Michel Lemaire head the ADR list, while Ben Polidori and Céline Achhammer head the Piratepartei list. Anne Winter represents Fokus. Carole Dentzer and Steve Schmitz head the Liberté - Fräiheet! list, while Serge Closter and Svenja Defays head the déi Konservativ list.

In the South

Twelve parties are each presenting 23 candidates in the South. Jean AsselbornJean Asselborn and Taina BofferdingTaina Bofferding head the LSAP list. Claude MeischClaude Meisch and Max HahnMax Hahn head the DP list. Joëlle WelfringJoëlle Welfring and Meris SehovicMeris Sehovic head the déi Gréng list. Gilles RothGilles Roth and Georges MischoGeorges Mischo will head the CSV list. déi Lénk has nominated four heads of list in the region: Marc BaumMarc Baum, Carole Thoma, Gary Diderich and Line Wies. Fred KeupFred Keup and Fernand KartheiserFernand Kartheiser will head the ADR list. Marc GoergenMarc Goergen and Morgan Engel for the Piratepartei. Luc Majerus for Fokus. At the top of the Volt list are Elisa Hippert and Becci-Sue Schmitz. Ali Ruckert and Dzenana Adrovic top the KPL list, Giovanni Patri and Perrine Felix top the Liberté - Fräiheet! list, and Roy Holzem and Joe Thein top the déi Konservativ list.

It should be noted that some parties have also appointed national heads of list. Luc Frieden represents the CSV at national level. “The appointment of list leaders is defined in the statutes. It is up to the various party committees to initiate the necessary procedures, both for the national head of list and for the regional heads of list. The final vote is taken by the CSV delegates at the national convention,” he explains to Delano’s sister publication Paperjam. “The role of a head of list is, in a way, to be the leader of the candidates on the regional list at certain times.”

The LSAP has nominated Paulette Lenert. Sam Tanson has been put forward to represent déi Gréng, and Fred Keup for the ADR. Frank Engel has been nominated to head the Fokus list in 2022.

This article was first published in French on Paperjam. It has been translated and edited for Delano.