As announced, the new government has 15 ministers. Photos: Maison Moderne/Archives

As announced, the new government has 15 ministers. Photos: Maison Moderne/Archives

The CSV and the DP have announced the list of ministers that will make up the first Frieden government. Only a third are women, and nine are new--including three surprises.

In the end,  (CSV) didn’t take finance, budget or even economy for himself; the prime minister will instead content himself with conducting the orchestra, as it were.

As promised, the new government has 15 ministers. “This is typical of Luxembourg politics,” said outgoing prime minister  (DP) at the end of his party’s steering committee meeting at the cultural centre in the Gare.

For Bettel, ensuring gender balance in government was not a priority, or even a factor. 

“We are not a party that wants to impose quotas,” he said. “We have tried to strike a balance between regions, professions, abilities and experience, and we don’t care if it’s a man or a woman.”

This article in Paperjam. It has been translated and edited for Delano.